Sub Frame Assembled!

Saturday after work I headed down to the shop knowing there were only a few items keeping me from assembling the sub-frame.  Between visitors and an escaped dog I was able to get the front suspension assembled and the wheels mounted.  At that point I looked around and there was no reason I couldn’t get on with the assembly; so I did.  With an engine hoist (fork lift in my case) and the right strategy this is a one man job.2013-07-20 17.54.47-1The only tricks I can offer, as its pretty straight forward, have the front and rear suspension propped up using 2×4 wood chalks as described in this previous post (8-1/2″ for the front and 6-1/2″ for the rear.)  Have a strap handy to go over the transmission and hook to the rear of the k-member (without this you will be putting a lot of stress on the motor mounts that just doesn’t need to be there.)  And chalk the front wheels so the forward sub-frame doesn’t move while you are pulling the two together.2013-07-20 17.55.062013-07-20 17.55.17

This entry was posted in Donor Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment