Gauge Package

So I own a few cars.  I am, admittedly, a petroholic.  Each of the cars I have I have for different uses.  One to tour in, one to track, one for work, and one for the shear pleasure of all the things that make mechanical curiosities of automobiles.  This last one is my most favorite. It is not the fastest, not the best handling, not the quietest, not the… well any of the normal metrics used by the magazines.  It is my GTV.  The GTV stands out because of all the wonderful sensations it tickles as opposed to numbs.  I have often referred to my Corvette as my 430 hp sofa.  At over a 1,000lbs lighter and without all the modern advances the GTV is its opposite.

How does this relate to gauges?  Well gauges are one of the few things you get to interact with intimately while driving.  No matter the scenery outside your windows, the gauges are always looking back at you.  Much like the steering wheel, the shift knob, and the transmission;  the gauges engage you while your driving.

The GTVs dash and gauges are particularly nice to look at, for me.  The GTVs steering wheel is a vintage Nardi with a touch of patina and a unique bit of automotive history.  The shift knob is a small piece of resin and wood made by a boutique Alfa specialty shop in the UK.  And the Alfa gearbox is legendary.  Simply put when I touch the controls of the Alfa, she touches me back.

For my Catfish I am looking to build an equally compelling cockpit.  The first component I have found to do this is custom gauge faces.  Adam Wolf of RevLimiter.net is just the man I needed for the job.  Adam has strong collection of stock alternate gauges faces, which are very reasonably priced, and he offers customization work if one is so inclined.  I was 😀

We are working through the final details of the faces for this project but its going to be something along the lines of these gauges he made for another customer.  I saw them and they tapped into a deep emotional vain that has its roots in my early motorcycling days.

revlimiter.net

Adam is great to work with so if you too are inclined don’t hesitate to drop him a line; adam@revlimiter.net

This entry was posted in Donor Work, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment